Nissan 370Z Forum  

[Official] "Do I need a tune with bolt-ons?" thread

If you don't want to get a tune but still run HFC's, I would suggest AEM's CAI with ETI. It helps the intakes compensate for their diameter difference. The ECU

Go Back   Nissan 370Z Forum > Tech Area > Engine & Drivetrain > Intake/Exhaust

Like Tree16Likes

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-22-2012, 09:11 AM   #76 (permalink)
Premium Member
 
SS_Firehawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Tampa
Posts: 3,787
Drives: 13' Magma Red Nismo
Rep Power: 27
SS_Firehawk has a reputation beyond reputeSS_Firehawk has a reputation beyond reputeSS_Firehawk has a reputation beyond reputeSS_Firehawk has a reputation beyond reputeSS_Firehawk has a reputation beyond reputeSS_Firehawk has a reputation beyond reputeSS_Firehawk has a reputation beyond reputeSS_Firehawk has a reputation beyond reputeSS_Firehawk has a reputation beyond reputeSS_Firehawk has a reputation beyond reputeSS_Firehawk has a reputation beyond repute
Default

If you don't want to get a tune but still run HFC's, I would suggest AEM's CAI with ETI. It helps the intakes compensate for their diameter difference. The ECU will makes it's own adjustments on top of that. My AFR's were averaging 13-13.2:1 with LTH's, full CBE and HFC.
__________________
Old Car:GTM TSC'd 550whp / 410lbft tq @ 11.88PSI
New Car: Under Construction

SS_Firehawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2012, 10:17 AM   #77 (permalink)
Base Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 67
Drives: 07 350z
Rep Power: 7
Germanguy is on a distinguished road
Default

I dont want to upgrade the intakes too : ).

Will I run lean?

How did you measure your AFR?
Germanguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2012, 10:29 AM   #78 (permalink)
Premium Member
 
SS_Firehawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Tampa
Posts: 3,787
Drives: 13' Magma Red Nismo
Rep Power: 27
SS_Firehawk has a reputation beyond reputeSS_Firehawk has a reputation beyond reputeSS_Firehawk has a reputation beyond reputeSS_Firehawk has a reputation beyond reputeSS_Firehawk has a reputation beyond reputeSS_Firehawk has a reputation beyond reputeSS_Firehawk has a reputation beyond reputeSS_Firehawk has a reputation beyond reputeSS_Firehawk has a reputation beyond reputeSS_Firehawk has a reputation beyond reputeSS_Firehawk has a reputation beyond repute
Default

If you just stick to Post maf tubes and drop in's, I think you might be okay. 300 cell cats will keep things closer to stock as well. You can get AFR measured when you dyno it, or via software.
__________________
Old Car:GTM TSC'd 550whp / 410lbft tq @ 11.88PSI
New Car: Under Construction

SS_Firehawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2012, 02:58 PM   #79 (permalink)
Base Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 67
Drives: 07 350z
Rep Power: 7
Germanguy is on a distinguished road
Default

Could I measure with Torque app the AFR, that I might be too lean?

Look at the video:

Galaxy S2 Torque App mit Track Recorder (Teestfahrt 1) - YouTube
Germanguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2012, 12:07 PM   #80 (permalink)
Base Member
 
jcasti07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: El Paso
Posts: 132
Drives: red '15 Mustang GT
Rep Power: 6
jcasti07 has a spectacular aura aboutjcasti07 has a spectacular aura about
Default

Lets say I installed a CAI and HFC's, about how much does a tune run you?
jcasti07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2012, 04:36 PM   #81 (permalink)
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: West coast
Age: 34
Posts: 451
Drives: 2010 nismo
Rep Power: 7
seymore4 will become famous soon enoughseymore4 will become famous soon enough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jcasti07 View Post
Lets say I installed a CAI and HFC's, about how much does a tune run you?
depends how you do it. If you go to a shop and get dyno'd it usually runs around $600, or you can do it yourself with datalogging and etunes for as low as $450, plus you get the uprev cable
seymore4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2012, 10:08 PM   #82 (permalink)
Base Member
 
CC QUIK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Vegas
Posts: 83
Drives: 2012 370Z
Rep Power: 5
CC QUIK is on a distinguished road
Default

To SS Firehawk,
Who do you recommend for a tune in Vegas?
CC QUIK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2013, 05:47 PM   #83 (permalink)
Base Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 13
Drives: 370z 40th aniversary
Rep Power: 6
ediazpr is on a distinguished road
Default better if with a tune

hi i have a 370z 40th anniversary with stillen headers, typhoon intake and cnt cat back. the uprev tune made a huge difference ,the car respond better you deffinetly see the difference in power. before the tune it gave around 276whp with the mods in a mustang dyno and after the tune a 296.4whp on 91oct and a 300whp on 104ct
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 370z3.jpg (504.3 KB, 22 views)
File Type: jpg 370z1.jpg (703.9 KB, 24 views)
Attached Files
File Type: pdf 370z1.pdf (259.9 KB, 7 views)
File Type: pdf 370z_2.pdf (273.6 KB, 7 views)
File Type: pdf 370z_3.pdf (284.9 KB, 6 views)
ediazpr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2013, 05:49 PM   #84 (permalink)
A True Z Fanatic
 
Huck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Cocoa, Florida
Age: 34
Posts: 5,075
Drives: Pantydropper machine
Rep Power: 26
Huck has a reputation beyond reputeHuck has a reputation beyond reputeHuck has a reputation beyond reputeHuck has a reputation beyond reputeHuck has a reputation beyond reputeHuck has a reputation beyond reputeHuck has a reputation beyond reputeHuck has a reputation beyond reputeHuck has a reputation beyond reputeHuck has a reputation beyond reputeHuck has a reputation beyond repute
Default




Sent from my iPizzle using magic and new-fangled science stuff
__________________
VLEDS | Evo-R | Moddiction | CF Hood Struts | F.I. CF CBE & LTH | Stillen CAI | NST Pulleys | UpRev | Z1 | M7 | Status | Forgestar | PSS | Whiteline | SPL | SPC | Kenwood | Zenclosure | Kicker | Alpine Type R
Huck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2013, 11:54 AM   #85 (permalink)
Track Member
 
kfull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 899
Drives: A lot
Rep Power: 7
kfull is a jewel in the roughkfull is a jewel in the roughkfull is a jewel in the roughkfull is a jewel in the rough
Default

FI CBE ordered. I'm guessing with this as my only mod I won't need a tune. I don't track it and don't drive it super hard as it is my dd. just some spirited driving here and there.
kfull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2013, 04:00 PM   #86 (permalink)
A True Z Fanatic
 
Huck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Cocoa, Florida
Age: 34
Posts: 5,075
Drives: Pantydropper machine
Rep Power: 26
Huck has a reputation beyond reputeHuck has a reputation beyond reputeHuck has a reputation beyond reputeHuck has a reputation beyond reputeHuck has a reputation beyond reputeHuck has a reputation beyond reputeHuck has a reputation beyond reputeHuck has a reputation beyond reputeHuck has a reputation beyond reputeHuck has a reputation beyond reputeHuck has a reputation beyond repute
Default

Lol nope, bolt and go!

Unless you're forced induction, you don't NEED a tune. Your car can run fine without it with full bolt ons. The ecu learns quite well.

However you can BENEFIT from a tune with full bolt ons. But just a cbe? Nah, bolt and go lol.


Sent from my iPizzle using magic and new-fangled science stuff
SterlingDrive likes this.
__________________
VLEDS | Evo-R | Moddiction | CF Hood Struts | F.I. CF CBE & LTH | Stillen CAI | NST Pulleys | UpRev | Z1 | M7 | Status | Forgestar | PSS | Whiteline | SPL | SPC | Kenwood | Zenclosure | Kicker | Alpine Type R
Huck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2013, 07:59 PM   #87 (permalink)
Base Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Southlake, tx
Posts: 116
Drives: 2012 silver 6spd nav
Rep Power: 5
dc3843 will become famous soon enoughdc3843 will become famous soon enough
Default Tune required?

So, I just bought my 2012 370z, and I'm already buying stuff to mod it somewhat. Now, I put an intake on my boss mustang and needed a damn tune for the thing to run right. Do I need that if I put an exhaust on my Z and add an intake later?
dc3843 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2013, 08:00 PM   #88 (permalink)
Premium Member Bitches
 
DEpointfive0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: SoCal
Posts: 14,794
Drives: a lot
Rep Power: 13995
DEpointfive0 has a reputation beyond reputeDEpointfive0 has a reputation beyond reputeDEpointfive0 has a reputation beyond reputeDEpointfive0 has a reputation beyond reputeDEpointfive0 has a reputation beyond reputeDEpointfive0 has a reputation beyond reputeDEpointfive0 has a reputation beyond reputeDEpointfive0 has a reputation beyond reputeDEpointfive0 has a reputation beyond reputeDEpointfive0 has a reputation beyond reputeDEpointfive0 has a reputation beyond repute
Default

You never NEED a tune, I don't have a tune and my car works fine
Zoren 370 likes this.
__________________
Do YOU want to know what/where I got my username from?
( Click to show/hide )
DEpointfive0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2013, 08:09 PM   #89 (permalink)
Administrator
 
Trips's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Disneyland, CA Age:100
Posts: 8,169
Drives: 🔰
Rep Power: 10
Trips has a reputation beyond reputeTrips has a reputation beyond reputeTrips has a reputation beyond reputeTrips has a reputation beyond reputeTrips has a reputation beyond reputeTrips has a reputation beyond reputeTrips has a reputation beyond reputeTrips has a reputation beyond reputeTrips has a reputation beyond reputeTrips has a reputation beyond reputeTrips has a reputation beyond repute
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dc3843 View Post
So, I just bought my 2012 370z, and I'm already buying stuff to mod it somewhat. Now, I put an intake on my boss mustang and needed a damn tune for the thing to run right. Do I need that if I put an exhaust on my Z and add an intake later?
Only IF you want the optimal performance out of the mods you added.
__________________


To Become a Premium Member Click HERE!
DIY Help Click HERE!
Trips is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2013, 08:10 PM   #90 (permalink)
Premium Member
 
gbrettin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Battle Creek, MI
Posts: 1,179
Drives: Tricycle
Rep Power: 11
gbrettin has a brilliant futuregbrettin has a brilliant futuregbrettin has a brilliant futuregbrettin has a brilliant futuregbrettin has a brilliant futuregbrettin has a brilliant futuregbrettin has a brilliant futuregbrettin has a brilliant futuregbrettin has a brilliant futuregbrettin has a brilliant futuregbrettin has a brilliant future
Default

I have a Fast Intentions cat back exhaust system on my car w/o a tune. It's been running this way for the last 3 years just fine.

So you don't NEED to. ... but I'd imagine you would want to once you do CAI and exhaust.
gbrettin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Official The370Z "Hot Girls with Hot cars" thread *NSFW* 01.01.09 AK370Z Gentleman's Club 187 01-12-2011 12:24 AM
OFFICIAL "I got my THE370Z t-shirt" Picture thread AK370Z The Lounge (Off Topic) 207 01-09-2011 03:43 PM
Official "Guess the Stig's Time" Thread ResIpsa Nissan 370Z General Discussions 11 07-27-2009 09:45 PM
Official "Nissan 370Z spotted in Japan" Thread AK370Z Nissan 370Z Photos / Spyshots / Video / Media Gallery 120 05-01-2009 09:30 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2