Nissan 370Z Forum  

GTM reviews on Yelp

So in my online travels I was directed to check out the reviews for GTM on yelp.com. They are not good at all. Now I know many of us here

Go Back   Nissan 370Z Forum > Nissan 370Z General Area > Nissan 370Z General Discussions

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-27-2011, 11:41 AM   #1 (permalink)
A True Z Fanatic
 
NYBladeZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 2,158
Drives: Lotus Exige S
Rep Power: 17
NYBladeZ has a spectacular aura aboutNYBladeZ has a spectacular aura about
Default GTM reviews on Yelp

So in my online travels I was directed to check out the reviews for GTM on yelp.com. They are not good at all. Now I know many of us here are GTM fanboys but reviews like that should not be ignored. Moreover, they were not answered to nor followed up on by GTM or the poster on yelp.com. Anyone have any additional info? The $26k for 400whp review is especially concerning.
__________________
2009 Carbon Fiber/Red 370z aka Trish: Sports Package, Meisterschaft full catback, Fast Intentions Longtube Headers, Injen Long Tube Intakes, UpRev Tune: Sold
2008 Lotus Exige S Club Racer aka Bella, always leaves me smiling
NYBladeZ is offline  
Old 09-27-2011, 11:45 AM   #2 (permalink)
A True Z Fanatic
 
shadoquad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: .
Posts: 42,610
Drives: .
Rep Power: 3883
shadoquad has a reputation beyond reputeshadoquad has a reputation beyond reputeshadoquad has a reputation beyond reputeshadoquad has a reputation beyond reputeshadoquad has a reputation beyond reputeshadoquad has a reputation beyond reputeshadoquad has a reputation beyond reputeshadoquad has a reputation beyond reputeshadoquad has a reputation beyond reputeshadoquad has a reputation beyond reputeshadoquad has a reputation beyond repute
Default

Not long ago, two problem customers took to google reviews and put Lou Fusz on blast.

This is one of the reasons why I don't trust online reviews. You can get a small sample size of the few people out of thousands who have an issue to post negativity. Or you can also have unethical fake posters who either lie about a bad experience or give props to a company because they're on someone's payroll. Oh, and then you have your garden variety internet troll who's bored and looking for attention.

I don't know about GTM personally. But I generally ignore interweb reviews.
shadoquad is offline  
Old 09-27-2011, 11:47 AM   #3 (permalink)
A True Z Fanatic
 
NYBladeZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 2,158
Drives: Lotus Exige S
Rep Power: 17
NYBladeZ has a spectacular aura aboutNYBladeZ has a spectacular aura about
Default

The problem is that, while a small sample size, the reviews are well written and echo each other. I'm not bashing GTM but frankly if it was my business I'd respond. Yelp.com is a well known site and something I've relied on and found to be accurate in the past.
__________________
2009 Carbon Fiber/Red 370z aka Trish: Sports Package, Meisterschaft full catback, Fast Intentions Longtube Headers, Injen Long Tube Intakes, UpRev Tune: Sold
2008 Lotus Exige S Club Racer aka Bella, always leaves me smiling
NYBladeZ is offline  
Old 09-27-2011, 11:50 AM   #4 (permalink)
A True Z Fanatic
 
shadoquad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: .
Posts: 42,610
Drives: .
Rep Power: 3883
shadoquad has a reputation beyond reputeshadoquad has a reputation beyond reputeshadoquad has a reputation beyond reputeshadoquad has a reputation beyond reputeshadoquad has a reputation beyond reputeshadoquad has a reputation beyond reputeshadoquad has a reputation beyond reputeshadoquad has a reputation beyond reputeshadoquad has a reputation beyond reputeshadoquad has a reputation beyond reputeshadoquad has a reputation beyond repute
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NYBladeZ View Post
The problem is that, while a small sample size, the reviews are well written and echo each other. I'm not bashing GTM but frankly if it was my business I'd respond. Yelp.com is a well known site and something I've relied on and found to be accurate in the past.
And if GTM has never heard of yelp?

I mean, I only heard about it a month ago. If they don't know it exists, how are they to respond?
shadoquad is offline  
Old 09-27-2011, 11:53 AM   #5 (permalink)
A True Z Fanatic
 
NYBladeZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 2,158
Drives: Lotus Exige S
Rep Power: 17
NYBladeZ has a spectacular aura aboutNYBladeZ has a spectacular aura about
Default

Google GTM and you'll find it, its been up long enough that a reasonable business owner would have come across it especially if he cares even 1% about the public image and response to his business.
__________________
2009 Carbon Fiber/Red 370z aka Trish: Sports Package, Meisterschaft full catback, Fast Intentions Longtube Headers, Injen Long Tube Intakes, UpRev Tune: Sold
2008 Lotus Exige S Club Racer aka Bella, always leaves me smiling
NYBladeZ is offline  
Old 09-27-2011, 11:57 AM   #6 (permalink)
A True Z Fanatic
 
shadoquad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: .
Posts: 42,610
Drives: .
Rep Power: 3883
shadoquad has a reputation beyond reputeshadoquad has a reputation beyond reputeshadoquad has a reputation beyond reputeshadoquad has a reputation beyond reputeshadoquad has a reputation beyond reputeshadoquad has a reputation beyond reputeshadoquad has a reputation beyond reputeshadoquad has a reputation beyond reputeshadoquad has a reputation beyond reputeshadoquad has a reputation beyond reputeshadoquad has a reputation beyond repute
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NYBladeZ View Post
Google GTM and you'll find it, its been up long enough that a reasonable business owner would have come across it especially if he cares even 1% about the public image and response to his business.
Let me google that for you

I don't see it in the results.

Look, what if, instead of flaming them publicly for not responding on a review site, you sent them a message to the effect of, "hey guys, yelp is flaming the crap out of you."?

I'm sure they care about image, but I'm also sure they have better things to do all day than go through product reviews, especially if they've never heard of yelp.
shadoquad is offline  
Old 09-27-2011, 12:00 PM   #7 (permalink)
A True Z Fanatic
 
Red__Zed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: window seat
Posts: 28,941
Drives: Mostly on two wheels
Rep Power: 117
Red__Zed has a reputation beyond reputeRed__Zed has a reputation beyond reputeRed__Zed has a reputation beyond reputeRed__Zed has a reputation beyond reputeRed__Zed has a reputation beyond reputeRed__Zed has a reputation beyond reputeRed__Zed has a reputation beyond reputeRed__Zed has a reputation beyond reputeRed__Zed has a reputation beyond reputeRed__Zed has a reputation beyond reputeRed__Zed has a reputation beyond repute
Default

Do people put weight in yelp reviews for performance shops? I think most customers turn here first.

Yelp is for finding cheese tacos or beer.
Red__Zed is offline  
Old 09-27-2011, 12:02 PM   #8 (permalink)
A True Z Fanatic
 
NYBladeZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 2,158
Drives: Lotus Exige S
Rep Power: 17
NYBladeZ has a spectacular aura aboutNYBladeZ has a spectacular aura about
Default

First off I didn't flame I asked a question. You're response is oh well maybe they don't know about yelp. What's next? They don't know about the customers in question? At one point I brought up similar concerns about things I had read and heard about a local well known shop who is a sponsor on here. They responded as any well to do business would by answering my questions and concerns and not pretending that I was just another insignificant potential sale. So yeah, good best shops and businesses know what people are saying about them and we are not talking about private blogging websites. Word of mouth and networking is always the best advertisement strategy so really cut the crap, not even the hardcore GTM fanboys would provide the "they don't know" argument.
__________________
2009 Carbon Fiber/Red 370z aka Trish: Sports Package, Meisterschaft full catback, Fast Intentions Longtube Headers, Injen Long Tube Intakes, UpRev Tune: Sold
2008 Lotus Exige S Club Racer aka Bella, always leaves me smiling
NYBladeZ is offline  
Old 09-27-2011, 12:05 PM   #9 (permalink)
A True Z Fanatic
 
shadoquad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: .
Posts: 42,610
Drives: .
Rep Power: 3883
shadoquad has a reputation beyond reputeshadoquad has a reputation beyond reputeshadoquad has a reputation beyond reputeshadoquad has a reputation beyond reputeshadoquad has a reputation beyond reputeshadoquad has a reputation beyond reputeshadoquad has a reputation beyond reputeshadoquad has a reputation beyond reputeshadoquad has a reputation beyond reputeshadoquad has a reputation beyond reputeshadoquad has a reputation beyond repute
Default

You are flaming them. You're suggesting that they're deliberately ignoring these harsh reviews when you haven't even brought it to their attention. I'm no GTM fanboy. I have no real intention of going FI or purchasing their services. I think you're being ridiculously unfair in this case.

Whatever hardon you have for criticizing them, I have no idea. Unless you're trolling. I don't know. I'm done with you.
shadoquad is offline  
Old 09-27-2011, 12:09 PM   #10 (permalink)
A True Z Fanatic
 
NYBladeZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 2,158
Drives: Lotus Exige S
Rep Power: 17
NYBladeZ has a spectacular aura aboutNYBladeZ has a spectacular aura about
Default

First post, "anyone have any additional info?" In the form of an interrogative sentence. Now I know what RCZ feels like.
__________________
2009 Carbon Fiber/Red 370z aka Trish: Sports Package, Meisterschaft full catback, Fast Intentions Longtube Headers, Injen Long Tube Intakes, UpRev Tune: Sold
2008 Lotus Exige S Club Racer aka Bella, always leaves me smiling
NYBladeZ is offline  
Old 09-27-2011, 12:10 PM   #11 (permalink)
A True Z Fanatic
 
shadoquad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: .
Posts: 42,610
Drives: .
Rep Power: 3883
shadoquad has a reputation beyond reputeshadoquad has a reputation beyond reputeshadoquad has a reputation beyond reputeshadoquad has a reputation beyond reputeshadoquad has a reputation beyond reputeshadoquad has a reputation beyond reputeshadoquad has a reputation beyond reputeshadoquad has a reputation beyond reputeshadoquad has a reputation beyond reputeshadoquad has a reputation beyond reputeshadoquad has a reputation beyond repute
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NYBladeZ View Post
First post, "anyone have any additional info?" In the form of an interrogative sentence. Now I know what RCZ feels like.
5th post, "any reasonable business would ... blah blah blah"

As if this was some reflection of their customer service because they don't respond to the site that you happen to like.

Grow up, 2-tone.
shadoquad is offline  
Old 09-27-2011, 12:16 PM   #12 (permalink)
A True Z Fanatic
 
NYBladeZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 2,158
Drives: Lotus Exige S
Rep Power: 17
NYBladeZ has a spectacular aura aboutNYBladeZ has a spectacular aura about
Default

Sam, I know you're looking, could you please respond. That's Mr. Carbon Two Tone to you buddy.
__________________
2009 Carbon Fiber/Red 370z aka Trish: Sports Package, Meisterschaft full catback, Fast Intentions Longtube Headers, Injen Long Tube Intakes, UpRev Tune: Sold
2008 Lotus Exige S Club Racer aka Bella, always leaves me smiling
NYBladeZ is offline  
Old 09-27-2011, 12:24 PM   #13 (permalink)
A True Z Fanatic
 
toxik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Age: 34
Posts: 9,158
Drives: 11 328xi, 96 300zxTT
Rep Power: 41
toxik has a reputation beyond reputetoxik has a reputation beyond reputetoxik has a reputation beyond reputetoxik has a reputation beyond reputetoxik has a reputation beyond reputetoxik has a reputation beyond reputetoxik has a reputation beyond reputetoxik has a reputation beyond reputetoxik has a reputation beyond reputetoxik has a reputation beyond reputetoxik has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to toxik
Default

meh people only post negative reviews anyways, I don't think I ever went to review a location with a positive review.
__________________
Project Pearl Necklace - PW 370z 05/01/2010 - 07/06/2011 (sold)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Red__Zed View Post
Dp'd by five ohs and I liked it...I liked it
toxik is offline  
Old 09-27-2011, 12:33 PM   #14 (permalink)
A True Z Fanatic
 
theDreamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 30,873
Drives: 370z
Rep Power: 852
theDreamer has a reputation beyond reputetheDreamer has a reputation beyond reputetheDreamer has a reputation beyond reputetheDreamer has a reputation beyond reputetheDreamer has a reputation beyond reputetheDreamer has a reputation beyond reputetheDreamer has a reputation beyond reputetheDreamer has a reputation beyond reputetheDreamer has a reputation beyond reputetheDreamer has a reputation beyond reputetheDreamer has a reputation beyond repute
Default

People still use Yelp?
__________________
theDreamer's Z // Fast Intentions // Uprev // GTM // HKS // TEIN
theDreamer's Silvia // URAS // GREDDY
Houston Zs // Facebook // Twitter // Instagram
theDreamer is offline  
Old 09-27-2011, 12:37 PM   #15 (permalink)
Premium Member
 
bullitt5897's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: North GA
Posts: 6,831
Drives: Twin Turbo Z34
Rep Power: 3679
bullitt5897 has a reputation beyond reputebullitt5897 has a reputation beyond reputebullitt5897 has a reputation beyond reputebullitt5897 has a reputation beyond reputebullitt5897 has a reputation beyond reputebullitt5897 has a reputation beyond reputebullitt5897 has a reputation beyond reputebullitt5897 has a reputation beyond reputebullitt5897 has a reputation beyond reputebullitt5897 has a reputation beyond reputebullitt5897 has a reputation beyond repute
Default

Seriously who uses yelp???? I never do!
__________________
Shop Cars: 2013 318whp Nismo VspecII 370z *SOLD*, 2009 1000hp+ 93oct 4.0L TT 370z Fast Intentions STAGE 4 #054
bullitt5897 is offline  
Closed Thread

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Brake Pad Reviews spearfish25 Brakes & Suspension 173 06-04-2015 09:56 AM
CSF Radiator: Reviews theDreamer Engine & Drivetrain 25 07-11-2013 06:56 AM
Dealer Reviews(Yelp.com) FuszNissan Lou Fusz Nissan - Supporting Dealer 3 03-08-2011 01:46 PM
Any Apex'i S1 reviews? ddahron Brakes & Suspension 9 10-20-2010 11:21 AM
Two more reviews; one old, one new martums Nissan 370Z General Discussions 5 12-31-2009 11:49 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2