Nissan 370Z Forum  

[Build Thread] -- Journey to 700+ WHP [Supercharger]

Originally Posted by TopgunZ Why would the manifold matter in what you are feeding it? You could feed any turbo, any supercharger into the stillen or stock manifold. Same thing

Go Back   Nissan 370Z Forum > Tech Area > Engine & Drivetrain > Forced Induction

Like Tree282Likes

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-08-2018, 01:09 PM   #31 (permalink)
Enthusiast Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: California
Posts: 465
Drives: 2015-7AT-Base-Coup
Rep Power: 2
cupcakez is a name known to allcupcakez is a name known to allcupcakez is a name known to allcupcakez is a name known to allcupcakez is a name known to allcupcakez is a name known to all
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TopgunZ View Post
Why would the manifold matter in what you are feeding it? You could feed any turbo, any supercharger into the stillen or stock manifold. Same thing goes for the piping more or less. The only thing that matters is the mounting bracket.
Ohhhh gotcha. Okay. Didn't know that -- haha still new to learning all about cars
Well I don't really like the Stillen Manifold anyway because of how annoying the bolts are to tighten underneath it. I would swap it out with a different manifold that is a bit easier to put on and take off~
I was thinking of investing into the GTR-Style 3D print manifold that the other guy on here is making at the moment, since it looks nice as well, that or get pretty much any other upper manifold x.X
cupcakez is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2018, 04:17 PM   #32 (permalink)
A True Z Fanatic
 
redondoaveb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: So. Cal.
Posts: 1,053
Drives: '17 370z Sport 6 spd
Rep Power: 3895
redondoaveb has a reputation beyond reputeredondoaveb has a reputation beyond reputeredondoaveb has a reputation beyond reputeredondoaveb has a reputation beyond reputeredondoaveb has a reputation beyond reputeredondoaveb has a reputation beyond reputeredondoaveb has a reputation beyond reputeredondoaveb has a reputation beyond reputeredondoaveb has a reputation beyond reputeredondoaveb has a reputation beyond reputeredondoaveb has a reputation beyond repute
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cupcakez View Post
Ohhhh gotcha. Okay. Didn't know that -- haha still new to learning all about cars
Well I don't really like the Stillen Manifold anyway because of how annoying the bolts are to tighten underneath it. I would swap it out with a different manifold that is a bit easier to put on and take off~
I was thinking of investing into the GTR-Style 3D print manifold that the other guy on here is making at the moment, since it looks nice as well, that or get pretty much any other upper manifold x.X
Before you go spending money on a different intake manifold you need to figure out how you're going to run the intake pipe on the drivers side. The placement of the sc doesn't leave any room. If there was room, the stillen manifold wouldn't be needed, everyone would run the stock intake manifold.
__________________
Stillen/Vortech/928/A2A/Tbatt/CJM/ID1050X/Walbro/Tial /Greddy EBC/Ecutek/Specialty Z/L-Spec/JWT/ZSpeed/RJM/Coolerworx/Fast Intentions/Motordyne/KW/Hotchkis/ SPL/Z1/Rohana/Nitto/Yuniqueled/Craftsquare/Carbon Fiber Element/Sullivan Racing/Speedhut/656whp/491ft.lbs
redondoaveb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2018, 10:59 PM   #33 (permalink)
Enthusiast Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: California
Posts: 465
Drives: 2015-7AT-Base-Coup
Rep Power: 2
cupcakez is a name known to allcupcakez is a name known to allcupcakez is a name known to allcupcakez is a name known to allcupcakez is a name known to allcupcakez is a name known to all
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by redondoaveb View Post
Before you go spending money on a different intake manifold you need to figure out how you're going to run the intake pipe on the drivers side. The placement of the sc doesn't leave any room. If there was room, the stillen manifold wouldn't be needed, everyone would run the stock intake manifold.

True that. I got to see how to make the piping fit :/ Hmm I guess I will ask my local aftermarket shop to see if they can figure out or find the proper piping pieces for the stillen manifold / other manifold if easier for them.
Thank you
cupcakez is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2018, 11:10 PM   #34 (permalink)
A True Z Fanatic
 
redondoaveb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: So. Cal.
Posts: 1,053
Drives: '17 370z Sport 6 spd
Rep Power: 3895
redondoaveb has a reputation beyond reputeredondoaveb has a reputation beyond reputeredondoaveb has a reputation beyond reputeredondoaveb has a reputation beyond reputeredondoaveb has a reputation beyond reputeredondoaveb has a reputation beyond reputeredondoaveb has a reputation beyond reputeredondoaveb has a reputation beyond reputeredondoaveb has a reputation beyond reputeredondoaveb has a reputation beyond reputeredondoaveb has a reputation beyond repute
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cupcakez View Post
True that. I got to see how to make the piping fit :/ Hmm I guess I will ask my local aftermarket shop to see if they can figure out or find the proper piping pieces for the stillen manifold / other manifold if easier for them.
Thank you
Got any pictures of how they got the piping to work? I'd love to see the routing.
__________________
Stillen/Vortech/928/A2A/Tbatt/CJM/ID1050X/Walbro/Tial /Greddy EBC/Ecutek/Specialty Z/L-Spec/JWT/ZSpeed/RJM/Coolerworx/Fast Intentions/Motordyne/KW/Hotchkis/ SPL/Z1/Rohana/Nitto/Yuniqueled/Craftsquare/Carbon Fiber Element/Sullivan Racing/Speedhut/656whp/491ft.lbs
redondoaveb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2018, 01:14 AM   #35 (permalink)
Track Member
 
Quicksilvers's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 969
Drives: 2017 370z
Rep Power: 614
Quicksilvers has a reputation beyond reputeQuicksilvers has a reputation beyond reputeQuicksilvers has a reputation beyond reputeQuicksilvers has a reputation beyond reputeQuicksilvers has a reputation beyond reputeQuicksilvers has a reputation beyond reputeQuicksilvers has a reputation beyond reputeQuicksilvers has a reputation beyond reputeQuicksilvers has a reputation beyond reputeQuicksilvers has a reputation beyond reputeQuicksilvers has a reputation beyond repute
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cupcakez View Post
True that. I got to see how to make the piping fit :/ Hmm I guess I will ask my local aftermarket shop to see if they can figure out or find the proper piping pieces for the stillen manifold / other manifold if easier for them.
Thank you
Can you post some pics if possible?
Quicksilvers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2018, 09:40 AM   #36 (permalink)
Enthusiast Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: California
Posts: 465
Drives: 2015-7AT-Base-Coup
Rep Power: 2
cupcakez is a name known to allcupcakez is a name known to allcupcakez is a name known to allcupcakez is a name known to allcupcakez is a name known to allcupcakez is a name known to all
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by redondoaveb View Post
Got any pictures of how they got the piping to work? I'd love to see the routing.
Sorry. Misunderstanding. What I meant was I also want to know what the piping would look like and what is needed to make a v7 fit wifh the Stillen Manifold.
There was a v7 ysi kit sold 3 days ago by a 350z member on that 350z forum for 4k usd which included piping as well so for sure it fits that car. It had about 5k miles on it.
I was jealous because I would have bought it if I had the money haha.
The only thing about thar setup was you sacrificed using AC is what the OP seller said.

Also, the v7 is proven to fit in our 370z cars as well because I remember reading about it somewhere here as well. I just never seen pictures either
I know the head unit isnt self lubricating either so youd need additional things to make it work as compared to the v3 units.

I meant I would ask my local aftermarket shop to see if they could make a v7 fit in our cars if I ever bought one and gave it to them to install haha.
cupcakez is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2018, 01:26 PM   #37 (permalink)
A True Z Fanatic
 
redondoaveb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: So. Cal.
Posts: 1,053
Drives: '17 370z Sport 6 spd
Rep Power: 3895
redondoaveb has a reputation beyond reputeredondoaveb has a reputation beyond reputeredondoaveb has a reputation beyond reputeredondoaveb has a reputation beyond reputeredondoaveb has a reputation beyond reputeredondoaveb has a reputation beyond reputeredondoaveb has a reputation beyond reputeredondoaveb has a reputation beyond reputeredondoaveb has a reputation beyond reputeredondoaveb has a reputation beyond reputeredondoaveb has a reputation beyond repute
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cupcakez View Post
Sorry. Misunderstanding. What I meant was I also want to know what the piping would look like and what is needed to make a v7 fit wifh the Stillen Manifold.
There was a v7 ysi kit sold 3 days ago by a 350z member on that 350z forum for 4k usd which included piping as well so for sure it fits that car. It had about 5k miles on it.
I was jealous because I would have bought it if I had the money haha.
The only thing about thar setup was you sacrificed using AC is what the OP seller said.

Also, the v7 is proven to fit in our 370z cars as well because I remember reading about it somewhere here as well. I just never seen pictures either
I know the head unit isnt self lubricating either so youd need additional things to make it work as compared to the v3 units.

I meant I would ask my local aftermarket shop to see if they could make a v7 fit in our cars if I ever bought one and gave it to them to install haha.
If I'm correct, the ac compressor is deleted in order to mount the sc on the passenger side. That would free up the space on the drivers side in order to run the intake piping to the stock intake manifold. I could be wrong though.
__________________
Stillen/Vortech/928/A2A/Tbatt/CJM/ID1050X/Walbro/Tial /Greddy EBC/Ecutek/Specialty Z/L-Spec/JWT/ZSpeed/RJM/Coolerworx/Fast Intentions/Motordyne/KW/Hotchkis/ SPL/Z1/Rohana/Nitto/Yuniqueled/Craftsquare/Carbon Fiber Element/Sullivan Racing/Speedhut/656whp/491ft.lbs
redondoaveb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2018, 01:30 PM   #38 (permalink)
Enthusiast Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: California
Posts: 465
Drives: 2015-7AT-Base-Coup
Rep Power: 2
cupcakez is a name known to allcupcakez is a name known to allcupcakez is a name known to allcupcakez is a name known to allcupcakez is a name known to allcupcakez is a name known to all
Default

https://i.imgur.com/FblyTmR.png
Quote:
Originally Posted by redondoaveb View Post
If I'm correct, the ac compressor is deleted in order to mount the sc on the passenger side. That would free up the space on the drivers side in order to run the intake piping to the stock intake manifold. I could be wrong though.
That would make sense!
I would cry in summer heat xD
But actually no. Look at this, the photo of the v7 ysi shows this:

https://my350z.com/forum/forced-indu...arger-kit.html

Last edited by cupcakez; 03-09-2018 at 01:33 PM.
cupcakez is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2018, 01:32 PM   #39 (permalink)
The370Z.com Sponsor
 
TopgunZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 2,226
Drives: 06 350Z , 09 370Z MT
Rep Power: 116
TopgunZ has a reputation beyond reputeTopgunZ has a reputation beyond reputeTopgunZ has a reputation beyond reputeTopgunZ has a reputation beyond reputeTopgunZ has a reputation beyond reputeTopgunZ has a reputation beyond reputeTopgunZ has a reputation beyond reputeTopgunZ has a reputation beyond reputeTopgunZ has a reputation beyond reputeTopgunZ has a reputation beyond reputeTopgunZ has a reputation beyond repute
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cupcakez View Post
https://i.imgur.com/FblyTmR.png

That would make sense!
I would cry in summer heat xD
But actually no. Look at this, the photo of the v7 ysi shows this:

https://my350z.com/forum/forced-indu...arger-kit.html
Everything about that bracket is totally different. Zero chances of it working. Good thing you didnt have the money.
cupcakez likes this.
__________________
FULL SUPERCHARGER TUNER KITS - $5999/ CUSTOM STILLEN AIR TO AIR KITS -starting at $1475/ Free shipping!! MAKE 500+WHP safely!!

Last edited by TopgunZ; 03-09-2018 at 01:35 PM.
TopgunZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2018, 01:38 PM   #40 (permalink)
Enthusiast Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: California
Posts: 465
Drives: 2015-7AT-Base-Coup
Rep Power: 2
cupcakez is a name known to allcupcakez is a name known to allcupcakez is a name known to allcupcakez is a name known to allcupcakez is a name known to allcupcakez is a name known to all
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TopgunZ View Post
Everything about that bracket is totally different. Zero chances of it working. Good thing you didnt have the money.
Oh lol. Didn't know that. I thought if it would fit in the 350 it would fit in the 370 xD
cupcakez is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2018, 05:01 AM   #41 (permalink)
Base Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 21
Drives: 14 Nismo 370Z
Rep Power: 2
Bens98gagt is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cupcakez View Post
Wait so you are saying that the Stillen manifold can still work with other head units than the V3-SCi trim in that a V7 YSi-Billet head unit works with the stillen manifold?? I could not find for the life of me any kits out for the V7-YSi-B or even the V7-YSi, or any information on the proper piping needed. Are you upgrading your transmission as well I assume or is it already upgraded? Or...does it not need upgrading?
Yeah the crank set me back about 3k and I am upgrading the radiator and clutch to the OS Giken clutch. My car is a manual so no transmission rebuild for now. I actually had a long discussion with vortech about the V7 and it will mount the same way the V3 SCI will but the shell is just a little larger but we measured and everything looks like it will clear pretty easily. But Soho has a full fab shop so if we need to modify a bit we could but from what we are seeing we may just add some bracing to the existing mount to prevent flexing at high RPMs and call it good but we don’t really think it needs that.

Last edited by Bens98gagt; 03-22-2018 at 05:18 AM.
Bens98gagt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2018, 03:50 PM   #42 (permalink)
Enthusiast Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: California
Posts: 465
Drives: 2015-7AT-Base-Coup
Rep Power: 2
cupcakez is a name known to allcupcakez is a name known to allcupcakez is a name known to allcupcakez is a name known to allcupcakez is a name known to allcupcakez is a name known to all
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bens98gagt View Post
Yeah the crank set me back about 3k and I am upgrading the radiator and clutch to the OS Giken clutch. My car is a manual so no transmission rebuild for now. I actually had a long discussion with vortech about the V7 and it will mount the same way the V3 SCI will but the shell is just a little larger but we measured and everything looks like it will clear pretty easily. But Soho has a full fab shop so if we need to modify a bit we could but from what we are seeing we may just add some bracing to the existing mount to prevent flexing at high RPMs and call it good but we donít really think it needs that.
Sweet.
So If I ever upgrade to a V7-YSi billet head unit, I know it would fit our vehicles, along with the Stillen Upper Manifold.
I can talk to SOHO about fabricating the parts to have it fit my vehicle is what you're saying? Or did I misunderstand somewhere?

Also, Update on my Stage IV engine from Kyle @IPP:
- I talked to him and he said they would have a pretty accurate timeline on when the engine will be finished / shipped out to me by sometime in the middle of April. I'm super stoked for it and definitely cannot wait until middle of April. Just wanted to let you guys know how the Engine is going

Thanks! (:
l2iceman likes this.
cupcakez is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2018, 08:11 AM   #43 (permalink)
Base Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 21
Drives: 14 Nismo 370Z
Rep Power: 2
Bens98gagt is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cupcakez View Post
Sweet.
So If I ever upgrade to a V7-YSi billet head unit, I know it would fit our vehicles, along with the Stillen Upper Manifold.
I can talk to SOHO about fabricating the parts to have it fit my vehicle is what you're saying? Or did I misunderstand somewhere?

Also, Update on my Stage IV engine from Kyle @IPP:
- I talked to him and he said they would have a pretty accurate timeline on when the engine will be finished / shipped out to me by sometime in the middle of April. I'm super stoked for it and definitely cannot wait until middle of April. Just wanted to let you guys know how the Engine is going

Thanks! (:
Yeah it looks like the existing mounting from Stillen will work for the V7 unit. Soho will just watch it closely when they are tunning it to make sure the bracket is solid and doesnít flex under heavy load. So that is why I said that they might add some reinforcement to the bracket if needed. Not yet for sure if it is necessary at this point. Will follow up with an update soon when we start tunning.
Bens98gagt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2018, 10:18 AM   #44 (permalink)
Enthusiast Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: California
Posts: 465
Drives: 2015-7AT-Base-Coup
Rep Power: 2
cupcakez is a name known to allcupcakez is a name known to allcupcakez is a name known to allcupcakez is a name known to allcupcakez is a name known to allcupcakez is a name known to all
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bens98gagt View Post
Yeah it looks like the existing mounting from Stillen will work for the V7 unit. Soho will just watch it closely when they are tunning it to make sure the bracket is solid and doesnít flex under heavy load. So that is why I said that they might add some reinforcement to the bracket if needed. Not yet for sure if it is necessary at this point. Will follow up with an update soon when we start tunning.
When you say existing mounting from Stillen, are you saying the same bracket that came with the Stillen SC kits with the V3 head units will work for the V7 YSi unit, V7 YSi-B unit or none of the above and that you just meant only the stillen manifold?

I heard you need to make a whole new mounting bracket for the V7 head unit for our vehicles but I could be wrong!

Reinforcement to the bracket if needed which means the existing bracket that came with the stillen kit for the V3 head units, just adding some reinforcement to that object correct?

Sorry haha just trying to make sure I understand
Thanks for the reply!
cupcakez is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2018, 04:52 PM   #45 (permalink)
Base Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 21
Drives: 14 Nismo 370Z
Rep Power: 2
Bens98gagt is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cupcakez View Post
When you say existing mounting from Stillen, are you saying the same bracket that came with the Stillen SC kits with the V3 head units will work for the V7 YSi unit, V7 YSi-B unit or none of the above and that you just meant only the stillen manifold?

I heard you need to make a whole new mounting bracket for the V7 head unit for our vehicles but I could be wrong!

Reinforcement to the bracket if needed which means the existing bracket that came with the stillen kit for the V3 head units, just adding some reinforcement to that object correct?

Sorry haha just trying to make sure I understand
Thanks for the reply!
It’s all good...

Yes the same bracket that came with the Stillen Kit yes Vortech said it would fit the V7 head unit and we did some measurements based upon some drawings they shared with us and it looks like it will. The V7 and V7 YSIB are the same size so it will work.

From my understanding the 350Z needed to make a whole new bracket because of clearance issues but the 370Zs have more clearance in that area. I will share my final results with everyone when I am done and the great thing about it is that Nick from Soho will have a solution for us if something has to be done custom to make it fit.

Yes if need be we will reinforce the existing bracket from Stillen if we need the added support but I dont think we will need to based upon what we were told from Vortech.
redondoaveb and cupcakez like this.
Bens98gagt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GTM Stage 1.5 supercharger build snowsurfdirtx Forced Induction 197 05-07-2017 07:04 AM
RiD3_FaM0uS's Journey to 850+whp Build Thread Rid3_FaM0uS Member's 370Z Gallery 83 03-24-2017 06:06 PM
Fillerbunnie's GTM Stage 1 Supercharger build (Australian RHD) fillerbunnie Forced Induction 46 08-23-2015 02:07 AM
40th Stillen Supercharger Build Nism0 Forced Induction 51 03-23-2015 09:12 PM
THE "Lets argue about Bullitt's build with out ruining Bullitt's build thread" THREAD Reaper42 Forced Induction 14 01-22-2011 06:24 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2