View Single Post
Old 06-18-2009, 05:02 PM   #33 (permalink)
dad
Grand Prix of Endurance

Drives: Mulsanne Straight
dad has a reputation beyond reputedad has a reputation beyond reputedad has a reputation beyond reputedad has a reputation beyond reputedad has a reputation beyond reputedad has a reputation beyond reputedad has a reputation beyond reputedad has a reputation beyond reputedad has a reputation beyond reputedad has a reputation beyond reputedad has a reputation beyond repute

Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert_Nash View Post
Let me state for the record that I'm not an engineer or mechanic or anything close; my expertise is accounting, finance and IT.

BUT...

I have learned to realy on people that are engineers and mechanics when it comes to engineering/mechanical issues (and I have on numerous occasions stayed at Holiday Inn Express hotels).

SO...

I've had conversations about this very issue with both Nissan engineers and with Doug Stewart (Doug owns Crawford Z Car Service in Nashville and has made his living repairing and racing Zs and Nissan's in general for over 30 years; his shop is also were we [Nissan] takes vehicles form the heritage collection for work. I won't advertise his website here but Doug has developed many performance parts for Zs including, of course, the 350 and I can only assume he is working on parts for the 370) and as Doug's shop sells and installs intake kits he has a vested interest in encouraging their use.

So with that said and after that long introduction...what Doug and Nissan engineers have told me is what I mentioned above; that the air box set-up on the 350/370 is more than adequate to feed the engine all the air it can handle in anything near stock form and using a low restriction air filter is as much of an increase in air flow as the engine can use/need.