View Single Post
Old 06-02-2009, 01:06 PM   #42 (permalink)
MutantChicken
Base Member

Drives: 2004 Ram-2007 Harley
MutantChicken is on a distinguished road

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phimosis View Post
Hi. I don't mean to be confrontational. I would just like add some insight, because I've probably lived through situations and seen things that you haven't. I totally disagree with your statement.

I'm a medical doctor, nearly 40 years old and well into the "fat" part of my career. I'm single and no kids or alimony to pay for. I can afford going into exotic territory, but I choose not to. A lot of people in southern California live to the very maximum of what they can afford so they can be flashy, be players, meet hot girls, etc. My friends drive Porsches and AMG Mercedes and tease me, saying "I bought a car that is a socioeconomic class below me." The same guys teased me about my last car, which was a Corvette, calling it my "redneck car".

The universal truth here is that cars are not an investment, they are a depreciating asset. On the used car market, you see (multiple) 2005 Lambo Gallardo's or 2006 911 turbo's for $90,000. The seller of the lambo is losing $90,000 in depreciation in 4 years. The Porsche sellers are losing $50,000 in 3 years, plus you're losing $1,000 a month to the bank on the interest for a loan that big. Then, Lambo owners are replacing the SMG clutch at like 15k miles at a cost of $7000. The total cost of 4 years of Lambo ownership (on a new car) is going to run you $120k-140k.