View Single Post
Old 03-16-2023, 10:57 AM   #12 (permalink)
Averying
Enthusiast Member

Drives: '09 370Z, '03 G35
Averying has a reputation beyond reputeAverying has a reputation beyond reputeAverying has a reputation beyond reputeAverying has a reputation beyond reputeAverying has a reputation beyond reputeAverying has a reputation beyond reputeAverying has a reputation beyond reputeAverying has a reputation beyond reputeAverying has a reputation beyond reputeAverying has a reputation beyond reputeAverying has a reputation beyond repute
Default Averying's 2009 Platinum Graphite 370z Journal

Well I’ve been chasing down a misfire for a few months now. Started off only happening on start up, and eventually the car really struggled after ~2.5k rpm.

A few days ago I started up the car for the first time in months and I was getting the same kind of misfire, and I had a P0305 code (cyl #5 misfire). I swapped the #5 and #1 spark plugs and coil packs and now I’m getting a P0300 code (multiple misfires), but the car starts up and misfires (intermittently it seems) in the same exact way as before swapping the parts between cylinder.

I also had an O2 sensor code in the past but I attribute that to my cracked test pipe, which is now fixed. That O2 code hasn’t come back during my jack-stand start ups this winter.

What I’ve tried already:
1. Fixed cracked test pipe and there aren’t any other noticeable exhaust leaks from the test pipes back.
2. Cleaned MAFs.

My next steps to diagnose the issue:
1. Run a mode $06 DTC scan and see if I can determine which individual cylinders are getting misfire codes. Hopefully this is a function I have in my OBDLink MX+ reader
2. Check that the fuel pump top hat hasn’t broken. I’m really hoping that this IS the issue. Obvious problem means easy diagnosing.