View Single Post
Old 01-02-2021, 03:51 PM   #29 (permalink)
radensb
Base Member

Drives: 09 Nissan 370Z GM M6
radensb has a reputation beyond reputeradensb has a reputation beyond reputeradensb has a reputation beyond reputeradensb has a reputation beyond reputeradensb has a reputation beyond reputeradensb has a reputation beyond reputeradensb has a reputation beyond reputeradensb has a reputation beyond reputeradensb has a reputation beyond reputeradensb has a reputation beyond reputeradensb has a reputation beyond repute

Quote:
Originally Posted by jorik View Post
I'm also very interested, but not sure what exactly I would need to make this a reality (also I don't have a head-unit in mind yet, but would like it if it could do CarPlay) and as such what budget I should be thinking of for the complete replacement.

Also I live in Netherlands and have a MY2009 from Germany, so I would prefer to be able to see and control temperatures in centigrades .

I am an electrical engineer, so I think I should be able to understand and get quite far with the electric parts and can maybe assist with the C++ software, but e.g. I have no idea what parts I would need for replacing the dashboard with a 2DIN(?) headunit. Are there existing parts for this, or is some custom modeling or 3d printing necessary for that?
What kind of setup are you thinking of doing exactly? Basically, anything outside COTS parts (standard single or dual DIN headunit and aftermarket bezel that supports dial controls) is going to require some custom fabrication on your end. There are people who have started this work and are fine tuning their models to enable people to 3D print their own. Some are charging for the CAD model, while others can be found online. Still, the models are typically designed around that persons custom build and may need modification for your configuration.