Thread: FI vs NA
View Single Post
Old 01-16-2010, 08:58 PM   #25 (permalink)
TARDCORE
Enthusiast Member

Drives: 2010 Solid Red 370Z
TARDCORE is on a distinguished road

Honestly, your gonna lose money compared to buying an M3. $2K a month is a high estimate. I am 22 years old and I pay $295 every 2 weeks (26 times a year) for my Z and my insurance is only $172.90 a month for 9 months out of the year. Gas is variable but 2K a month is high. I am gonna get the Ford SVT Raptor 6.1 when it comes out and that would barely amount to 2k a month since I'd rarely drive it. So basically here is your plan (and let me know if I am wrong): 1) Apparently from the info you gave, you got your car on a 5 year loan? (mine is on an 80 month loan through a bank for the Border Patrol; which I am an agent; at 5.9%) So unless you put down more money than I did, you have a WAY higher car payment than I do. 2) If your are ONLY going to keep it stock looking and go FI then during the lets say $38K loan you have, your going to spend an additional $12K bringing it up to $50k. And I really doubt, since you seem like a big sports car enthusiast, that you would keep it bone stock. Not too mention one of my co workers bought a 2009 M3 at invoice so they sell for cheap. So lets say we bring the total amount to $56K, which is still a moderate estimate. 3) Once you do go FI, depending on how you drive and monitor your new toy will determine the life of your vehicle, maintenance is expensive and there is ALWAYS something that will go wrong within the first few months, minor or major. 4) Now you are going to get rid of the Z for a more expensive car. Only the car is heavily modded and your gonna have to find the right buyer. Trade ins will no longer work. A lot of people won't buy a car like that for a reasonable price. Too much to risk.