View Single Post
Old 03-28-2017, 09:22 PM   #30 (permalink)
Redglare
Enthusiast Member

Drives: C172 Skyhawk GIII
Redglare has a reputation beyond reputeRedglare has a reputation beyond reputeRedglare has a reputation beyond reputeRedglare has a reputation beyond reputeRedglare has a reputation beyond reputeRedglare has a reputation beyond reputeRedglare has a reputation beyond reputeRedglare has a reputation beyond reputeRedglare has a reputation beyond reputeRedglare has a reputation beyond reputeRedglare has a reputation beyond repute

Quote:
Originally Posted by 280z/300zx View Post
I'm not an expert but unless the frame is bent I wouldn't say it's 100% a total loss. You have a 2017 which means the insurance company is going to be looking at a higher valued car than say if this was a 2009 370z. It's a myth to think that when airbags deploy that insurance companies won't fix the car, because they will. I would strongly urge you reach out to your insurance adjuster and push for a total loss.

My 2010 NISMO was involved in a front end collision that looked similar in damage to yours, except mine was all front end damage. I thought for sure it was totaled. Then they said no they thought it was fixable due to cost of replacement for the car vs. damages to the car. I fought with them for weeks explaining it would never be right again. I lost the fight and they "fixed" the car. It took 6 months to "fix" it. In the end the car had to be returned 3 different times. The second time the shift knob came off while pulling out of the parking lot. Why the shift knob was even messed with still remains a mystery as it was not damaged initially. But I showed them the tool marks that clearly indicated someone had tampered with it. The third and final time the car lost power, fuel, brakes, etc while driving 45mph. Luckily I was able to pull the car over without incident. The same week I got it back after that I took it to CarMax and sold it.