View Single Post
Old 11-23-2015, 02:19 PM   #12 (permalink)
jffarraro
Base Member

Drives: 370Z
jffarraro is on a distinguished road

Well - after driving it for a few days, my impressions have changed a little. I have grown to like the sound even more - especially at mid to low RPMs. I pulled out of a covered garage spot right next to a new V8 Jag F-Type - which has a fantastic sounding exhaust - the GTHaus was better - not kidding. (I'm also a classical guitarist - were known for our fixation on tone....the tone (not loudness) was genuinely more full and purring than the Jag's). I have a 2013 Roadster which is otherwise stock, though optioned out. The tone at full throttle with the top down is a bit ear shattering, but unless I'm driving it hard to high RPMs- its not too loud.

I did not install it myself - I was going to, but opted to pay the $140 to have it installed to save myself aggravation, skinned knuckles, and broken fingernails (important to classical guitarists). They did not reset the ECU. I thought about this - From my old turbocharged Miata days, if the computer is adaptive (assume it is -all modern ones are) it should figure out any adjustments on its own, eventually. Let me know if there is any other advantage to resetting the ECU other than having the computer adapt more quickly.