View Single Post
Old 04-09-2015, 08:34 AM   #1 (permalink)
370zHawaii
Enthusiast Member

Drives: A Starship
370zHawaii is on a distinguished road
Default Spent some coin and Layed down the D over Easter Weekend

I spent about 10 hours dynamatting and about 20 hours installing, NEX4000, Polk Components, Alpine PDX9 amp, and a ported box I found on ebay, I prefer ported over sealed, just my preference. Box is built to JL W3V3 10 inch specs. Dynamatting was well worth it, I noticed the difference immediately. I am not a pro audio installer and I took my sweet time and I am a perfectionist, don't judge me. I bought almost everything off Amazon with the exception of the box and a few miscellaneous items.

How does it sound you may wonder. Pretty F&^N Awesome!! sounds beastly, like I am in a concert. Old music sounds new again with the clarity of certain notes that I never heard before. I listen to just about everything, rock, rap, digital, urban, jungle, classic rock, dubstep, country, and reggae. I tuned it by ear and its perfect. I seriously need to invest in a bass remote knob now. (not my first car audio system, but it has been a while since I've had one over 4 years).

What I bought/installed

bulk pack of Dynamat (9 sheets and after all I put into the Z I still have two and a half sheets left over. I didn't do the floors or the roof...yet)
Dynaliner (still have quite a bit left over, going to do the roof possibly)
Dynamat Finishing Tape (must have for a clean look, even though I will never see it, I have OCD)
Alpine PDX 9
Fitted/Ported Box 1.25 cf tuned at 32 hz
Amp Install Kit
Nex4000 (loving this --removable face plate all the bells and whistles and the price was right)
Polk DB651 components ---without an amp they don't to well, with the PDX9 they are freaking awesome!!
Polk 3.5 for the rears (remember I have OCD they just need to be there)
14 gauge Speaker Wire roll,butt connectors, 4 gauge wire, ring connectors, fasteners, heat shrink zip ties etc etc