View Single Post
Old 08-19-2014, 10:36 AM   #27 (permalink)
synolimit
A True Z Fanatic

Drives: 2013 Silver 370z
synolimit has a reputation beyond reputesynolimit has a reputation beyond reputesynolimit has a reputation beyond reputesynolimit has a reputation beyond reputesynolimit has a reputation beyond reputesynolimit has a reputation beyond reputesynolimit has a reputation beyond reputesynolimit has a reputation beyond reputesynolimit has a reputation beyond reputesynolimit has a reputation beyond reputesynolimit has a reputation beyond repute

Quote:
Originally Posted by wstar View Post
Yes, seat time, you get it Auto-X is a nice intro, but if you're planning to do road-courses then start getting road-course seat time by the biggest bucket-loads you can.

I wouldn't even bother with aero mods at this point (splitter and/or a big functional wing). I've been doing road courses for 3 years now and I'm running a pretty decent pace and I still haven't added aero to my car. The aero mods aren't going to help you feel the car or learn to drive. They'll reduce lap times for a good driver, but (and I don't mean to be mean) you need to learn to be a good driver first, and then worry about aero.

If anything aero will hold you back in the initial stages. It makes the high-speed corners counter-intuitive because the limits don't change linearly with speeds. Even ignoring the non-linear effects of aero, there's also that it's just going to take time to learn the feel out the tires at the limit. Figuring it out on a mostly-stock Z is already going to be tricky and dangerous. Instructors and safety rules help a lot, but the bottom line is you'll end up spinning and/or going off track a number of times during the process in the long term. Doing that at lower non-aero traction limits is going to be way easier under lower g-forces, and less-violent. That and off-course excursions tend to eat splitters anyways.