Thread: burning oil
View Single Post
Old 10-25-2013, 09:06 AM   #49 (permalink)
SurfDog
A True Z Fanatic

Drives: 09 6mt, 13 Sequoia,
SurfDog has a reputation beyond reputeSurfDog has a reputation beyond reputeSurfDog has a reputation beyond reputeSurfDog has a reputation beyond reputeSurfDog has a reputation beyond reputeSurfDog has a reputation beyond reputeSurfDog has a reputation beyond reputeSurfDog has a reputation beyond reputeSurfDog has a reputation beyond reputeSurfDog has a reputation beyond reputeSurfDog has a reputation beyond repute

I'm no mechanic or engineer, here are some things things that I have wondered about.

1. Q: How does one decide what oil change interval to use?
A: no one can give a good answer, so I change mine every 5k miles. Why 5k you might ask? well its super easy to remember to change at 5, 10, 15, 20, 25 etc. no computer or sticker needed. just look at your odometer and know exactly where you are at. 5k is conservative but that's okay by me.

(technique only)

2. Q:What oil should I use?
A: Wow we have beat this thing to DEATH! Please lets not do it again. Use whatever is easy enough to get that you do it on time, every time. (for me Mobile 1 is always coming on sale so I stock up and keep 10-15 quarts always ready to go in if any of my 3 cars hits a 5k increment)

(technique only)

3. Q:Should our car burn oil.
A: Who cares? some do some don't. Some start after a few years, some don't. all that seems to matter is that you check your dipstick when your filling up to make sure you don't toast your engine. (technique only)