View Single Post
Old 05-31-2013, 05:24 PM   #101 (permalink)
olddudesrule
Enthusiast Member

Drives: 2012 Nismo
olddudesrule is on a distinguished road
Default Just adding some tips for 2012 owners...

Just finished the install of the Z1 Motorsports oil cooler kit (25 row Setrab w/ Mocal thermostatic sandwich plate). Overall, the install took me @ 4 hours start to finish, but I'm new to the car, and I generally read and reread the instructions. I didn't take any pictures because it pretty much mirrored the DYI already on here.

Went pretty smoothly, and per the DYI's I've seen, with just a couple of minor issues, specifically related to the 2012's and their factory oil cooler sandwich plate. The instructions from Z1 cover the difference in sandwich plate orientation (fittings come out @ 7:00 vice 10:00 when mounted), but in just a small section. I actually had to have my cooler line come in from two different angles (still merging at 7:00 on the plate) so that I could get the filter in there. Also, I chose to use the smaller (stock sized) filter, as opposed to the newer Purolater L14610 (stock sized in the L14612) because there just wasn't enough room for the larger filter. With the new factory oil cooler (water cooled), and the Mocal sandwich plate on there, there is little room for the bigger filter. I think I could have squeezed it in there, with the end of the bigger filter about 1/4" from the frame rail, but said "**** it" and went with the smaller filter.

Other than that issue, the only dig on the instructions is that the cooler line routing pics are from an older model, and with the 2012+, you'll have to find the best way to run yours. I ended up cutting a small piece of the hard plastic plate just under and right of the coolant bottle to run the lines up and over the frame rail, and down to the sandwich plate.