View Single Post
Old 04-29-2012, 09:23 PM   #5 (permalink)
theboydiddy
Track Member

Drives: 370z Pearl White
theboydiddy will become famous soon enoughtheboydiddy will become famous soon enough

Quote:
Originally Posted by poorazn View Post
If you're launching with the pedal to the metal you are going to spin the wheels. VDC off you'll spin like crazy, VDC on you'll be spinning while the system is trying to correct (flashy yellow blinky light)

Have you ever driven manual before? Have you ever launched in a manual? If you 'pedal to the metal' in any car and drop the clutch, your very likely to spin the wheels.

The 370z has a lot of power, so trying to put 'everything she's got' to the floor from a standstill, the wheels are going to spin. I'm no expert on launching, but you need to find the sweet spot where you can put max power to floor with minimal wheel spin and minimal clutch slip.

Take a look here: Best RPM to Launch at for 1/4 MT?

The same generally goes for shift through the gear box. You're going to get wheel chirp if you powershifting through the box.

Although I'm not too sure about 5th-6th gear wheel chirping.... I;ve never been to 150+mph or what ever.

As for your friend in the A4. Auto vs Manual. Your car can beat him. But your shifting probably needs some work (i'm not trying to be a ****.) There's a lot of skill required to get an MT to top perform.
oh no, not at all kid. NOT at all. your advices are much appreciated. honestly, thank you.

Quote:
Originally Posted by cgmg21 View Post
Man this guy is going to tear up his effen car just trying to figure out some bs, or impressing others. Stop dogging your car b/c the next topic months or a year down the road is about your car acting worse.